Annual Fundraising Gala Past Honorees

The Annual Rutgers/LEAP Gala was established in 2000 in order to inform and excite the Camden community about the Alfredo Santiago Endowed Scholarship and to galvanize fundraising efforts on its behalf.  The Gala remains the primary vehicle for scholarship fundraising and each year it generates thousands of dollars for the endowment through private and corporate donations, ticket sales, and revenue from our Silent and Live Auction. 

In the last 20 years, this formal black tie event has brought university, business, and community partners together and has emphasized the necessity of creating more higher education opportunities for Camden youth.  In recognition of their support for the Scholarship and for the city, the Gala has awarded the Rutgers/LEAP Leadership Award to individuals, corporations, and stakeholders whose investments in the community are changing lives and revitalizing Camden

Susan N. Story
President and Chief Executive Officer, American Water Company

Joseph H. Jacovini
Member, Senior Leadership Team; Chair of Strategic & Financial Planning, Dilworth Paxson LLP

Daniel J. Hilferty
President and Chief Executive Officer Independence Blue Cross

AIREKO and The Tustin Group


Charisse R. Lillie
Vice President, Community Investment, Comcast Corporation

President, Comcast Foundation

Joan N. Stern
Partner in the Public Finance Practice, Eckert Seamans Cherin & Mellott, LLC.

Richard P. Miller
President & CEO, Virtua

Philip Murphy
Former U.S. Ambassador to Germany

Richard L. Wright
Chief of Staff to Former NJ Governor Jim Florio

Dr. Ali A. Houshmand
President, Rowan University

Gerard P. Cuddy
CEO & President, Beneficial Bank


Robert Menendez
U.S. Senator of New Jersey

Nelson A. Diaz
Lawyer, Partner of Dilworth Paxson Law Firm in Philadelphia

Quinton Aaron
Actor, Played the role of “Big Mike”in the Oscar Nominated film
The Blind Side

Luis Garcia, Ph.D.
Professor Emeritus, Rutgers University–Camden

Lloyd Freeman
Associate, Archer & Greiner P.C., Attorney at Law

Honorable Sila M. Calderón
Former Governor, Commonwealth
of Puerto Rico

Mr. James H. Carll
Archer & Greiner

Ms. Alma l. Saravia
Flaster/Greenberg P.C.

Ms. Mary t. Sheil
17 A Joyce Kilmer Associates

Mr. José E. Fernández
Omega Overseas Investments Corp.

Mr. Angelo J. Genova, Genova, Burns & Giantomasi

Mr. Hernán Guaracao
AL DIA News Inc.

Mr. J. Michael Schweder

Mr. Alan F. Stein
Rotary International (#7640)

Mr. Peter J. Burke, Jr.
Brandywine Senior Living

Ms. Elizabeth G. Christopherso
The Rita Allen Foundation

Ms. Brenda Ross-Dulan
Wells Fargo & Company

Mr. Ralph LaRossa
President & COO, PSE&G

Dana Redd, Mayor Camden NJ

Mr. Dennis M. Bone
Verizon New Jersey

Mr. Joseph Lizza,
Susquehanna Bank 

Ms. Linda Rohrer
The William G. Rohrer Foundation

Ms. Deborah Rosado Shaw,
Dream BIG Enterprises, LLC

Melinda Holman, President & CEO Holman Enterprises

Gualberto Medina,
Executive Vice President
CBRE Brokerage Services

Senator Jon Corzine
U.S. Senator from NJ Former Governor

Congressman Robert E. Andrews First District of New Jersey

Assemblyman Louis D. Greenwald,New Jersey Legislature, Dist. 6

Dr. David P. Beck, Former President Coriell Institute for Medical Research

Susanne Svizeny, Regional President, Wachovia Corporation

Ross Danis, Program Director Geraldine R. Dodge Foundation

John Matheussen, President & CEO Delaware River Port Authority

Vernon W. Hill II, Former Pres. & CEOCommerce Bank (TD Bank)


Jerry Buckley, President Campbell’s Soup Foundation

CLC at Rutgers Camden
501 Cooper Street, Camden New Jersey, 08102
Phone: 856.225.6348 | Fax: 856. 225.6500